If you're having trouble viewing this email, you may see it online.



Domy Books is pleased to present

Sammy Harkham and Jonny Negron
signing copies of their new PictureBox titles

Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Domy Books - Austin
913 E Cesar Chavez, Austin, TX 78702


6-9pm

Sammy Harkham is regarded as one of the most influential cartoonist/editor of his generation. After a decade of work and groundbreaking anthologies, Everything Together collects his short stories. These comics condense vast amounts of emotion and information into nuanced cartoon narratives. Harkham's classic style is both articulate and expedient. At the center of the book are two vastly different tales: Poor Sailor, a sea-faring myth of a man gone to find wealth for his love; and Somersaulting, a kind of fever dream of teenagers in love, wiling away the summer. Around these stories shorter comic strips tackling everything from Napoleon (if he was a tortured artist) to touching examinations of Jewish mysticism and life in a shtetl, to satires of contemporary university life. Through all these works, Harkham maintains a light touch and emotive wit.

The Brooklyn-based Jonny Negron, editor of the ongoing anthology zine Chameleon, emerged in 2011 as a web sensation, appearing in many anthologies and the subject of numerous features in Vice Magazine. An acclaimed “master of voluptuousness” in the tradition of Robert Crumb and Tom of Finland, his highly erotic drawings occupy a space that draws from fashion drawings, video games, manga, and street art. Negron is his first book and explores the ample proportions of his vision. It features all-new drawings of his signature zaftig women and gangsta men, placed in fantastical, raunchy scenarios involving multi-fluid lactation, demon-faced copulations and exaggerated accidents with various condiments. With new comic strips created especially for this publication, lists of the artist’s favorite things and selected vintage photography from 1970s magazines, Negron demonstrates how he has successfully combined high fashion with street comics. This is a guide to his brave new world, produced in as lush a package as the women in his work: printed on high-gloss paper, this dust-jacketed paperback is an art object unto itself.